Collage and Montage

A collage is a composition of materials and objects pasted over a surface. A montage is a single composition created by juxtaposing a series of pieces of paper, photos or other media to create an artistic image.

For this task I have created A collage using various surreal photographs taken under the dream time theme I chose from the ones we were given.

The origins of collage can be traced back hundreds of years, but this technique made a dramatic reappearance in the early 20th century as an art form of novelty.

The term collage derives from the French “coller” meaning “glue”. This term was coined by both Georges Braque and Pablo Picasso in the beginning of the 20th century when collage became a distinctive part of modern art.

References

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Collage

My Collage

colage

Reflection

I used my own images to create my collage and chose pictures I felt best represented dream time. I think my collage has a strong surrealistic appearance which is what I was trying to represent. I used various Photoshop techniques to try and bluer the lines between the images as I wanted to try and create an image that is not viewed with a linear understanding. Despite this looking back I would have altered the brightness and contrast of the entire image as I feel it looks slightly faded, and may have been more affective if it was sharper.

Leave a Reply

