Semiotics

For this assignment we were asked to take 5 pictures that represent university lifestyle and talk about the signs and signifiers within are photographs. Here are my five pictures.

edit 2

With my first picture my aim was to represent student night life. I took pictures of the empty bottles left around my room in order to portray the side of university that revolves heavily around alcohol and going out with your friends. The signifiers in this image are the empty bottles and therefore the signified would be that students often like a drink.

edit 3

For this image I was trying to portray the untidy conditions that many students live in. The signifiers in this image would be the stack of dirty pots and pans, therefore the signified would be that students are often untidy. Again the denotations in this image would be the pile of dirty pans. Connotations that relay to this could be that students can be lazy and unhygienic.

edit 4

For this image I photographed one of the buildings on Headingly campus, the building its self would be both the signifier and the denotation found within this image. The signified would be the university its self, depending on the views knowledge of what they see. For example students at Headingly campus would most likely know this building and there for relay the image to the university. People that may not have this knowledge might draw something else from the image, for example an institution of some kind. Connotations taken from this image could include academia, progression, self improvement and higher learning.

edit 5

This image was taken in the library as I was trying to portray the hard work element to university lifestyle, for example late nights in the library and rushing to meet deadlines. The signifiers in this image would be the books on the shelves the signified would be academia, studying, revising and hard work.

wdit 1

Again with this image I was trying to portray the untidy conditions many students life in. The signifiers in this image would be the overflowing bin and rubbish bags on the floor. The signified could again be that students may be untidy, lazy or unhygienic.

Reflection

This assignment helped me to think about what I was trying to portray before taking my pictures, it also helped me to breakdown my own photos using semiotics and see weather what I was trying to represent can be identified within the image.

Leave a Reply

